FanPost

Holmes Amazing TD

No I am not talking about the beautiful 65 yard catch and run that Holmes had in the second quarter. I am talking about the 40 yard catch and dive in to the endzone that was ruled a catch on the 1 yard line and then for reasons not completely clear to anyone familiar with the game of footbal was ruled an incomplete pass.

Ulitmately it didn't make a difference because the Steelers dominated the Ravens.  But after reading the great comments in this fanpost, I thought it was worth reviewing the film to see if there was any proof one way or another.

Before I show the slides, BadMafala defines the rules for us as follows: 

I believe the rule is if a WR goes to the ground as a part of making the catch (which Holmes probably did, even though he was making a football move by stretching out), he has to maintain possession through the ground (which Holmes did not). If that’s the rule, the rule’s stupid in this case, but it may have been the right call.

I looked to see if I could find a copy of the rule book, but I could not.

If anyone can, it would be great if they could post the rules for a catch and for a touchdown on here. 

Personally, after looking at the stills, I believe that Holmes made a catch, got control, took two steps, switched the ball to one hand and then dove for the endzone. If this is the case - as I think the photos show, then its not clear how this could be ruled anything but a catch. 

The Proof

From Drop Box

 

From Drop Box

Am I crazy or does he not only have the ball but he trying to break a tackle

From Drop Box

OK - can't break it - gotta try to go for the endzone. Also notice that Tone switches the ball into one hand.  He doesn't bobble it or struggle for control, he tucks it firmly in one hand so he can dive. 

From Drop Box

Um, Clearly still has possession.  The knee has not touched.

From Drop Box

Okay this is just insane,  Tone has launched himself in the air with full possession of thet ball, hovering about three inches off the ground.

Is this guy amazing or what? 

From Drop Box

OK - maybe this isn't a touchdown, but: 

1. He still isn't touching the ground here - the ball may just be making contact

2. The ball sure looks close to the breaking the plane

3. This is an amazingly athletic play

4. There is no way you can say he did not catch this ball, get two feet down and then make a move that would make superman proud. 

5.  This is one of the most athletic plays of the year. Lame call refs. Lame call.   

 

From Drop Box

Wow! 

 

 

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Behind the Steel Curtain

You must be a member of Behind the Steel Curtain to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Behind the Steel Curtain. You should read them.

Join Behind the Steel Curtain

You must be a member of Behind the Steel Curtain to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Behind the Steel Curtain. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker