clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Harrison Named Defensive Player of the Year

The NFL announced Monday morning that Steelers OLB James Harrison has been named the 2008 Defensive Player of the Year. His teammate, SS Troy Polamalu, finished fifth in the yearly ballot of 50 votes from the Associated Press.

Harrison led the Steelers with 16 sacks, and led the NFL with seven forced fumbles in becoming the first Steeler since Rod Woodson in 1993 to win the award. He also set the Steelers franchise record for sacks in a season.

Harrison received 22 votes of 50 total. Dallas LB DeMarcus Ware finished second with 13 votes and Baltimore's Ed Reed received eight.

Tennessee DT Albert Haynesworth received five, and Polamalu received two.

Harrison joins Woodson and Joe Greene (1974), Mel Blount (1975) and Jack Lambert (1976) as the Steelers Defensive Players of the Year.