clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Steelers Name Ben Roethlisberger, Brett Keisel Captains for 2012 Season

Getty Images

The Steelers have announced QB Ben Roethlisberger and DE Brett Keisel will serve as captains for the 2012 season.

This is Roethlisberger's fourth season as captain, serving previously in 2008, 2009 and 2011. It's Keisel's first year as captain.

It's the first time since 2007 the Steelers named two captains, instead of three or more. In 2007, the Steelers named Hines Ward and James Farrior captain. Incidentally, both Ward and Farrior were captains last year, but both were released this offseason.

Ward was a captain from 2005-11, and Farrior from 2004-11.

Keisel has been on the Steelers roster since 2002, and made the Pro Bowl in 2010. His captaincy isn't surprising, given he'll be the most experienced Steelers defender in terms of tenure and the amount of snaps he's likely to take in 2012. NT Casey Hampton has been with the team longer, but will play a limited number of snaps, especially early this year.