clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2012 AP All Pro Team: Steelers Maurkice Pouncey named to second team

New, comments

With C Maurkice Pouncey being named to the second team, he represents the Steelers only AP All Pro player. Steelers tight end Heath Miller was considered a candidate for the 2012 AP All Pro team but he was beaten out by Atlanta's Tony Gonzalez (first team) and Dallas's Jason Witten (second team).

Charles LeClaire-US PRESSWIRE

Pittsburgh center Maurkice Pouncey was named to the AP All Pro second team Saturday, earning All Pro honors for the third consecutive season.

He played both center and left guard for the Steelers this season, and was one of the few constants on an offensive line that again suffered a large amount of injuries. Pouncey only missed one game.

Tight end Heath Miller was the Steelers' second-best candidate for All Pro honors, but he failed to make the cut.

Atlanta's Tony Gonzalez took first team honors with Dallas's Jason Witten being named to the second team. While the honor would have been defensible in Miller's case, Gonzalez and Witten both had outstanding seasons, and it's hard to argue with their selection.

First Team


Quarterback - Peyton Manning, Denver.
Running Backs - Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Marshawn Lynch, Seattle.
Fullback - Vonta Leach, Baltimore.
Tight End - Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta.
Wide Receivers - Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Brandon Marshall, Chicago.
Tackles - Duane Brown, Houston; Ryan Clady, Denver.
Guards - Mike Iupati, San Francisco; Jahri Evans, New Orleans.
Center - Max Unger, Seattle.
Placekicker - Blair Walsh, Minnesota.
Kick Returner - Jacoby Jones, Baltimore.

Ends - J.J. Watt, Houston; Cameron Wake, Miami.
Tackles - Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; Vince Wilfork, New England.
Outside Linebackers - Von Miller, Denver; Aldon Smith, San Francisco.
Inside Linebackers - Patrick Willis, San Francisco; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco.
Cornerbacks - Richard Sherman, Seattle; Charles Tillman, Chicago.
Safeties - Earl Thomas, Seattle; Dashon Goldson, San Francisco.
Punter - Andy Lee, San Francisco


Quarterback - Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay.
Running Backs - Alfred Morris Washington; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City.
Fullback - Jerome Felton, Minnesota.
Tight End - Jason Witten, Dallas.
Wide Receivers - A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Andre Johnson, Houston.
Tackles - Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Joe Staley, San Francisco.
Guards - Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Logan Mankins, New England.
Center - Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.
Placekicker - Phil Dawson, Cleveland.
Kick Returner - David Wilson, New York Giants


Ends - Justin Smith, San Francisco; Julius Peppers, Chicago.
Tackles - Justin Smith, San Francisco; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit, and Haloti Ngata, Baltimore.
Outside Linebackers - Chad Greenway, Minnesota; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco, Clay Matthews, Green Bay, and DeMarcus Ware, Dallas.
Inside Linebackers - Daryl Washington, Arizona; London Fletcher, Washington.
Cornerbacks - Champ Bailey, Denver; Tim Jennings, Chicago.
Safeties - Eric Weddle, San Diego; Jairus Byrd, Buffalo.
Punter - Thomas Morstead, New Orleans.