clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Pro Bowl rosters: Team Rice tabs Brees, Quinn as captains, with Charles and Watt leading Team Sanders

Captains were set for each newly formatted Pro Bowl team, and the first round of drafting took place Tuesday. The second half will air at 8 p.m. Wednesday on NFL Network.

Joe Robbins

The excitement of Fantasy Football has overtaken the league's annual All Star game. Or something like that.

The top vote-getters were named captains of each team, led by Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders. Rice got to pick his two captains, Drew Brees and Robert Quinn, giving Sanders Jamaal Charles and J.J. Watt.

Then each side got to begin selecting their team, starting with interior defensive linemen, moving to interior offensive linemen and finishing up with centers, special teams players, punters and fullbacks.

The second half of the draft, scheduled to air tonight on NFL Network, will consist of all remaining players.

Team Rice

Captains: quarterback Drew Brees, defensive end Robert Quinn

Defensive tackles: Jason Hatcher, Dallas; Kyle Williams, Buffalo; Marcell Dareus, Buffalo

Guards: Jahri Evans, New Orleans; Ben Grubbs, New Orleans; Evan Mathis, Philadelphia

Centers: Ryan Kalil, Carolina; Nick Mangold, New York Jets

Special teamer: Justin Bethel, Arizona

Punter: Johnny Hekker, St. Louis

Fullback: Mike Tolbert, Carolina

Team Sanders

Captains: running back Jamaal Charles, defensive end J.J. Watt

Defensive tackles: Ndamukong Suh, Detroit; Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Dontari Poe, Kansas City

Guards: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Logan Mankins, New England; Kyle Long, Chicago

Centers: Mike Pouncey, Miami; Alex Mack, Cleveland

Special teamer: Matthew Slater, New England

Punter: Brandon Fields, Miami

Fullback: Marcel Reece, Oakland

The remaining picks will be announced Wednesday, beginning at 8 p.m. ET on NFL Network. The game is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET Sunday from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.