clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cam Heyward and James Conner among six Steelers voted to the Pro Bowl

Cam Heyward has finally been voted to a Pro Bowl on the initial ballot and will be joined by first time selection James Conner.

Cleveland Browns v Pittsburgh Steelers Photo by Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

The NFL revealed the rosters for the Pro Bowl on Tuesday evening and only one team in the league saw more players honored than the Pittsburgh Steelers this year. James Conner is a first time selection in a group that includes Cam Heyward, Antonio Brown, David DeCastro, Alejandro Villanueva and Maurkice Pouncey, with only the Los Angeles Chargers sending more representatives in 2019.

The inclusion of Heyward as a first ballot selection is long overdue and the choice of Conner is a just reward for an exceptional season from the second year running back.

Pro Bowl selections for Brown are understandably an annual affair, as they are for Pouncey and DeCastro, while Villanueva has received his second straight selection for a very impressive season through the first 14 games so far.

The absence of names like JuJu Smith-Schuster and T.J. Watt is something of a surprise, especially for the young wide receiver, but the quality at his position makes the AFC roster a hard one to crack over DeAndre Hopkins, Tyreek Hill, Keenan Allen and Brown.

None of this will matter quite as much if Pittsburgh reaches the Super Bowl, given they would be unable to play in the Pro Bowl, but should that not actually happen, players like Smith-Schuster and Watt may yet get to go as alternates.