clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Steelers release names of 2018 Hall of Honor inductees

See who will be inducted into the Pittsburgh Steelers Hall of Honor in 2018.

NFL: AFC Divisional Playoff-Jacksonville at Pittsburgh Steelers Philip G. Pavely-USA TODAY Sports

The Pittsburgh Steelers decided in 2017 to create their own Hall of Honor. Similar to other teams doing a Ring of Honor, or something like that, Steelers Team President Art Rooney II decided he wanted to honor some of the organization’s past legends.

One of the driving forces behind the Hall of Honor was to pay homage to players like Donnie Shell and L.C. Greenwood, two players who both deserve to be enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, but haven’t for whatever reason.

There were 27 members in the inaugural class of the Hall of Honor, and on Saturday the team announced the 2018 class. The players who are getting enshrined will be:

  • Bill Nunn (Scout)
  • Art Rooney Jr. (Scout / Personnel Dept.)
  • Buddy Dial
  • Rocky Bleier
  • Alan Faneca

These individuals will join the following players from 2017 in the Hall:

  • Art Rooney Sr.
  • Dan Rooney
  • Bill Dudley
  • Johnny McNally
  • Walt Kiesling
  • Bobby Layne
  • Ernie Stautner
  • John Henry Johnson
  • Joe Greene
  • Jack Ham
  • Mel Blount
  • Terry Bradshaw
  • Jack Lambert
  • Franco Harris
  • Chuck Noll
  • Mike Webster
  • Lynn Swann
  • John Stallworth
  • Jack Butler
  • Rod Woodson
  • Dermontti Dawson
  • Jerome Bettis
  • Kevin Greene
  • L.C. Greenwood
  • Donnie Shell
  • Dick Hoak
  • Andy Russell

The Steelers will honor these 5 new inductees at Heinz Field at halftime of a game chosen at a later date.