clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Pittsburgh Steelers 2019 offseason workouts/OTAs set

It may be the offseason, but there are some important dates fans should know as the team prepares for the 2019 season.

NFL: Pittsburgh Steelers Training Camp Philip G. Pavely-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL calendar ebbs and flows throughout the passing months. After the season concludes in early February, there is about a month where no news takes place. Then comes free agency and the start of the new league year. With the ramp up in news, the league eliminates any slow periods by making the regular season schedule release an event, and this all leads up to the NFL Draft.

What is next?

After the draft each individual team starts their three phases of Organized Team Activities (OTAs). Phase one consists of mainly strength and conditioning. No coaches, other than the strength and conditioning coach, and no real drills being run. This phase takes two weeks total.

Phase two coaches are allowed to coach and work individually with players, but still not contact or pads of any kind. No offense vs. defense, and no helmets or one-on-one drills allowed. This phase takes three weeks total.

Phase three is the one which garners the most attention. Here are the details for Phase three of the offseason workouts:​

  • 4 weeks total
  • 3 weeks for 10 total OTA’s
  • A maximum of 3 OTA’s each week for the first 2 weeks
  • During Weeks 1 & 2 a 4th non OTA workout is allowed but phase two rules apply
  • A maximum of 4 OTA’s for the 3rd or 4th week
  • One week for mini camp
  • No pads except protective knee and elbow pads, helmets are permitted
  • No live contact
  • 7 on 7, 9 on 7 and 11 on 11 drills will be permitted provided no live contact takes place

With all this said, the Pittsburgh Steelers have set their dates for their OTAs, rookie and veteran minicamps. Check out the dates, per the team’s official website:

Steelers Rookie Minicamp Schedule:

Friday, May 10 - Day 1

Saturday, May 11 - Day 2

Sunday, May 12 - Day 3

Steelers OTAs Schedule:

Tuesday, May 21 – OTA #1

Wednesday, May 22 – OTA #2

Thursday, May 23 – OTA #3

Tuesday, May 28 – OTA #4

Wednesday, May 29 – OTA #5

Thursday, May 30 – OTA #6

Monday, June 3 – OTA #7

Tuesday, June 4 – OTA #8

Wednesday, June 5 – OTA #9

Thursday, June 6 – OTA #10

Steelers Minicamp Schedule:

Tuesday, June 11 – Day 1

Wednesday, June 12 – Day 2

Thursday, June 13 – Day 3


The projected date for the Steelers to report to Saint Vincent College in Latrobe, PA is July 25th, but this has not been confirmed by the organization at this time. With the calendar ready to move to May, the boys of fall will be back on the gridiron before you know it.