clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Steelers LB Devin Bush listed at odds of 18/1 to win defensive rookie of the year honors

In a list headlined by Nick Bosa and Josh Allen as favorite at odds of 6/1, the Steelers rookie linebacker is seventh favorite in the betting to win the award with

Minnesota v Michigan Photo by Dave Reginek/Getty Images

The Pittsburgh Steelers will be hoping that Devin Bush can hit the ground running in his debut season after clearing a path to him starting with the release of Jon Bostic. But while there is still a good chance that he might be sitting behind Mark Barron come opening day, his college tape seems to suggests he could well become the starter sooner rather than later.

And for those predicting a big season from the young linebacker, the latest odds for the 2019 Defensive Rookie of the Year market should make interesting reading, with the former Michigan product priced at 18/1 to win the title this year, as per

Sitting seventh in the betting, Bush trails names like San Francisco 49ers first-round pick Nick Bosa and Jacksonville Jaguars rookie Josh Allen at the top of the betting at 6/1, with New York Jets defensive lineman Quinnen Williams third on the list at 7/1.

Indianapolis Colts 2018 second-round draft pick inside linebacker Darius Leonard was the latest winner of the award, an honor that has traditionally gone to a player selected in round one in recent years.

As per betting site Sports Betting Dime, 11 of the last 12 DROY awards went to first-round selections, with Leonard the lone exception. And while 10 of the last 12 winners were taken within first 15 picks of their draft, only once in the last seven years has the first defensive player taken in the draft won the award (Joey Bosa, 2016).

Given the spread of winners over the past 15 years, it would appear that Bush could have a reasonable chance of winning based on his position too.

  • Edge Players - 3
  • Inside Linebackers - 7
  • Interior Defensive Linemen - 3
  • Defensive Backs - 2

The last Steelers rookie to win the honor was inside linebacker Kendrell Bell in 2001 and before that it was Jack lambert in 1974. Joe Greene was the first Pittsburgh player to ever win the title in 1969.