clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Steelers Burning Question: T.J. Watt, Defensive Player of the Year?

Can another Watt add his name to the prestigious award?

Pittsburgh Steelers v Baltimore Ravens Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

In 1971 Alan Page won the initial Associated Press NFL Defensive Player of the Year, and since its inception, seven Pittsburgh Steelers have went on to win the coveted award. In 1972 Mean Joe Greene would win the first of two, also winning it in 1974. Mel Blount in 1975 and Jack Lambert in 1976, giving the Steelers three consecutive winners and four out of five.

...oh the 80’s

No Steeler would win the award again until 1993, with Rod Woodson bringing the Steelers their fifth Defensive Player of the Year. After another long drought, James Harrison would win it in 2008 and Troy Polamalu in 2010.

The recent drought isn’t as long as the ones between Lambert and Woodson or Woodson to Harrison, but it’s been long enough, if you know what I mean. I think most can figure where I’m going with this so I’ll just cut to the chase.

Going into year three, is it possible for TJ Watt to take that next step, albeit a huge step and put his name with the likes of the Khalil Macks and Aaron Donalds of the world, winning the Defensive Player of the Year Award?


What type of stats would Watt need to win the award?


Will Watt win the 2019 Defensive Player of the Year?


Would you say I’m crazy, if I said Watt will win it?


That’s it, leave your answers in the comment section and Go Steelers.

By the way, the picture is of Watt defending a pass, he has a way about him...making splash plays...just sayin’.