clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Al Riveron explains the overturned pass interference non-call in Steelers vs. Seahawks

New, comments

VP of NFL officiating Al Riveron tried to explain why the officials in New York overturned the non-call in the Week 2 contest.

Seattle Seahawks v Pittsburgh Steelers Photo by Justin Berl/Getty Images

There were several plays in the Pittsburgh Steelers vs. Seattle Seahawks Week 2 game which had fans wondering “what if”.

The personal foul call against Daniel McCullers on a Seahawks field goal gave the Seahawks a new set of downs, and resulted in a Seahawks touchdown. Donte Moncrief had a pass sail right through his hands and into the lap of a diving Seahawks defender. That play resulted in another Seattle touchdown.

Here is the official rundown of the play:

2nd & 20 at SEA 27

(8:54 - 4th) (Shotgun) R.Wilson pass incomplete deep middle to T.Lockett [B.Dupree]. Coverage by 34-Edmunds, Pressure by 90-Watt. Seattle challenged the play for possible defensive pass interference, and the play was REVERSED. (Shotgun) R.Wilson pass incomplete deep middle to T.Lockett [B.Dupree]. Coverage by 34-Edmunds, Pressure by 90-Watt. PENALTY on PIT-Te.Edmunds, Defensive Pass Interference, 38 yards, enforced at SEA 27 - No Play.

After a lengthy review, the NFL deemed there was enough contact to warrant an interference call. In his post-game conference Mike Tomlin said he wasn’t given an explanation, but he disagreed with the call.

Al Riveron, NFL VP of officiating, gave his explanation for the overturned call after the game was over. This per Jacob Klinger of PennLive.com:

In case you can’t see the above image, it reads:

“The ruling on the field is that it was an incomplete pass. It was challenged by Seattle. We take a look at it and there were three or four TV angles that show us that there was clear and obvious visual evidence that the receiver was significantly hindered by the defender in his attempt to make the catch.”

“I didn’t say it was egregious. I said it was clear and obvious that he was significantly hindered.”

Instead of facing third and long, the Seahawks were awarded a new set of downs and the spot foul moved the ball well into Pittsburgh territory. That play resulted in a touchdown for Seattle en route to their 28-26 win at Heinz Field.

You can always play the “what if” game, but when the NFL officiating injects itself into the outcome of games, something not unfamiliar to Steelers fans, it can leave a sour taste in your mouth.

What did you think of the call? Let us know in the comment section below! And be sure to follow BTSC for the latest news and notes surrounding the black-and-gold as they continue their search for their first win of 2019.