clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pittsburgh Steelers announce two team award winners

The Pittsburgh chapter of Pro Football Writers of America handed out two awards on Wednesday.

NFL: NOV 01 Steelers at Ravens Photo by Mark Goldman/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Every year the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America hand out awards to individual players for a multitude of reasons. For the Pittsburgh Steelers, two of those awards are for media cooperation, and the team’s top rookie performer of that particular season.

The Pittsburgh Steelers have announced the recipients of those two awards on Tuesday, and they are Ben Roethlisberger as the winner of ‘The Chief’ Award and Chase Claypool the winner of the Joe Greene Great Performance Award.

‘The Chief’ Award is given to a player on the Pittsburgh Steelers who is known for their cooperation with the media. Ben Roethlisberger previously won the award in 2010. Other current Steelers to win the award are Cameron Heyward in 2014 and 2019, David DeCastro in 2017, and Joe Haden in 2018.

The Joe Greene Great Performance award is given to the Steelers top rookie each season. In 2020, Chase Claypool was chosen for the award after posting 57 receptions for 772 yards and 8 receiving touchdowns, along with 2 rushing touchdowns, through 15 games of his rookie season. Awarded since 1984, Claypool joins fellow award winners Devin Bush in 2019, Terrell Edmunds in 2018, JuJu Smith-Shuster in 2017, Sean Davis in 2016, Bud Dupree in 2015, Maurkice Pouncey in 2010, and Ben Roethlisberger in 2004.

Be sure to stay tuned to BTSC for all the latest news and notes surrounding the black and gold, especially as the regular season comes to a close and more team awards will continue to be announced.