clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Alan Faneca a finalist for the 2021 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Out of 7 players with ties to the Steelers nominated, Fanca was the only one chosen as one of the 15 finalists.

Pittsburgh Steelers v Carolina Panthers Photo By Grant Halverson/Getty Images

In an announcement from the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday evening, former Steelers guard Alan Faneca is one of 15 finalists for the 2021 Pro Football Hall of Fame class.

Alan Faneca has been a finalist in the last five years and is hoping 2021 will finally be when he gets the call. Seeing other offensive lineman going in with less accomplishments has been what Faneca has seen over the last two years. Faneca played 13 years in the NFL, 10 of which were for the Steelers. He was selected to nine Pro Bowls and was All-Pro six times.

In an announcement in August, Bill Nunn is one of three senior finalists for the Hall of Fame and the only one as a contributor. The other two senior finalists are Drew Pearson (player) and Tom Flores (coach). The three finalists will simply have a “yes” or “no” election along with the other modern-era finalists.

Other Steelers nominations who were not selected were Hines Ward, Heath Miller, Joey Porter, Casey Hampton, Gary Anderson, and Rohn Stark. Stark spent 16 years in the NFL is a punter but was only a member of the Steelers in 1995.

Hines Ward has been a semi finalist the previous four years. Ward spent all 14 of his NFL seasons in Pittsburgh and was selected to the Pro Bowl four times. Playing in three Super Bowls with the Steelers, Ward was the Super Bowl MVP for the 2004 season. Unfortunately, other wide receivers Charles Johnson, Reggie Wayne, and Tory Holt all were selected as finalists ahead of Ward.

The 15 modern-era finalists still have a ways to go before being selected to the 2021 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The list will be trimmed down to 10 and then to 5 during Super Bowl weekend in February. The five finalists and three senior finalists will undergo a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ vote and must receive 80% in order to be selected.

For a complete list of modern-era finalists can be seen here: