clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Najee Harris wins “Angry Runs” award for Week 17 on NFL Network’s GMFB

The Steelers backfield duo dominated the popular NFL Network segment.

NFL: Pittsburgh Steelers at Seattle Seahawks Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

We can all finally take a deep breath - because the angry runs scepter is making its return to the Steel City.

Steelers RB Najee Harris was selected as the winner of “Angry Runs,” a popular segment on NFL Network’s Good Morning Football, pioneered by network analyst Kyle Brandt. Harris won for the fifth time, tying Tennessee Titans RB Derrick Henry for the all-time lead since the inception of “Angry Runs.”

Who did Harris beat out, you ask? Well, let’s just say it was an all-black and gold version of the segment...

Jaylen Warren may have gotten the short end of the stick this time around, but the good news is that there are enough scepters to go around when it comes to the Steelers running backs room.

Warren took home the honor back in Week 11 against the Cleveland Browns.

It’s only right that a Pittsburgh Steelers back took home the scepter. The Steelers ran the ball 46 times for 202 yards rushing in their win against the Seattle Seahawks on Sunday. That’s the most they’ve run the ball in any game since 2006. It was only their second 200-plus yards rushing game this season, reaching that mark against the Green Bay Packers back in Week 10.

The dynamic duo of Harris and Warren helped propel the Steelers to their second consecutive win. They will look to continue to take their anger out, this time on the Baltimore Ravens on Saturday, to keep their playoff hopes alive.