clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

3 Steelers named to 2024 Pro Bowl Games

T.J. Watt, Minkah Fitzpatrick, and Miles Killebrew will represent the Steelers in Orlando this February.

Pittsburgh Steelers linebacker T.J. Watt (90) pass rushes at the line of scrimmage against the Arizona Cardinals during the second quarter at Acrisure Stadium.  Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL announced this season’s Pro Bowl Games rosters today, with three Steelers making the AFC’s lineup. Outside linebacker T.J. Watt, safety Minkah Fitzpatrick, and special teamer Miles Killebrew were voted by NFL players, coaches, and fans to represent the Steelers in Orlando, Florida in February.

This will be the fifth Pro Bowl selection of Watt’s career. The star pass-rusher is having another standout year, tied for the NFL lead in sacks with 17 and a Defensive Player of the Year candidate.

Watt is one of six outside linebackers and defensive ends to make the Pro Bowl for the AFC, with the others being Myles Garrett, Maxx Crosby, Trey Hendrickson, Khalil Mack, and the Jaguars’ Josh Allen.

Fitzpatrick is a more puzzling choice. Despite his elite resume, the safety has only appeared in 10 games this year due to injury, and he’s yet to record an interception. However, he’s made 64 total tackles, still good for second on the Steelers, and recorded three passes defensed. It’ll be his fourth selection to the Pro Bowl.

Fitzpatrick joins the AFC Pro Bowl roster along with fellow safeties Justin Simmons and Kyle Hamilton.

Special teams ace Miles Killebrew will also represent the Steelers at the Pro Bowl in the AFC’s lone special-teamer slot. It’s his first time being selected. Killebrew is a Steelers special teams captain this season, and he’s recorded a team-best 13 special teams tackles to go along with a blocked punt in Week 5. Killebrew also got his hands on a punt in Week 14 against the Patriots, causing it to travel just 11 yards.

Steelers long snapper Christian Kuntz didn’t make the Pro Bowl, but he did finish in the top 10 in votes for his position. Watt finished fifth and Killebrew seventh, while Fitzpatrick did not make the top 10 league-wide at safety despite making the games.

The rosters announced today will not be the exact ones featured in this year’s Pro Bowl, as the games are voluntary. Players may opt out for any reason, including injury or making the Super Bowl, meaning new names will be added later this year to fill out the teams.

This season’s Pro Bowl Games will take place in Orlando, Florida the weekend of February 4, the week before the Super Bowl. For the second straight year, the traditional Pro Bowl format has been replaced with a number of various events for the NFL’s star players to participate in, including dodgeball, tug-of-war, and many others. The weekend will end with an AFC vs. NFC flag football game that Sunday.

You can view the full AFC Pro Bowl roster here.