clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vote for who you think is the Steelers 2014 MVP

Perhaps the tightest race the team has had for its annual MVP award, vote here for who you think should be named.

Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

Three other times in franchise history, the Steelers selected two players as their team MVP. It would seem 2014 has an outstanding chance of becoming the fourth split vote in the 45 years the team has been giving out the award.

Linebacker David Little and cornerback Rod Woodson shared it in 1988. LB Joey Porter and wide receiver Hines Ward took home the trophies in 2002 and Ward and nose tackle Casey Hampton split the award in 2005.

This year, even coming up with two would be a challenge.

Quarterback Ben Roethlisberger is a big game away from eclipsing 5,000 passing yards for the first time in Steelers' history. He's already topped the franchise records for completions and yards, and needs two touchdowns Sunday against Cincinnati to tie his record for touchdown passes in a season.

Wide receiver Antonio Brown set new franchise marks in receptions and receiving yards, and with one more touchdown, he'll set a new franchise mark in scoring receptions with 13. Brown may end up leading the NFL in receiving yards and catches when it's all said and done.

Running back Le'Veon Bell broke the team's record for yards from scrimmage, and obliterated the club record for receptions by a running back. Heading into Week 17, he sits just 25 yards behind Dallas' DeMarco Murray for the league lead in yards from scrimmage.

Pick any one of these three over the other. You can do it, but it seems like the vote would be split. Pick any of the two and you're leaving someone worthy off the list.

What about adding in James Harrison? He brought a run-stopping presence the team simply did not have until around midseason - when Harrison (signed before the team's Week 4 game) got his football legs under him. Or Cameron Heyward, who perhaps quietly is having an excellent all-around season, and is now the top dog on the Steelers' defense. William Gay has three interception return touchdowns (franchise record) and is the only consistent cornerback playing for the Steelers right now.

Roethlisberger said he's voting for Heath Miller, who's also an excellent candidate. Left tackle Kelvin Beachum is having a breakout season, while linebacker Lawrence Timmons is more quietly having perhaps his finest year.

Let's put it to a vote. Who is the Steelers' 2014 Team MVP? We'll have a run-off vote if any one candidate fails to capture 40 percent or more of the vote.

Steelers MVPS
1969 WR Roy Jefferson
1970 DT Joe Greene
1971 LB Andy Russell
1972 RB Franco Harris
1973 WR Ron Shanklin
1974 S Glen Edwards
1975 CB Mel Blount
1976 LB Jack Lambert
1977 QB Terry Bradshaw
1978 QB Terry Bradshaw
1979 WR John Stallworth
1980 SS Donnie Shell
1981 LB Jack Lambert
1982 CB Dwayne Woodruff
1983 PK Gary Anderson
1984 WR John Stallworth
1985 WR Louis Lipps
1986 LB Bryan Hinkle
1987 LB Mike Merriweather
1988 LB David Little, CB Rod Woodson
1989 WR Louis Lipps
1990 CB Rod Woodson
1991 LB Greg Lloyd
1992 RB Barry Foster
1993 CB Rod Woodson
1994 LB Greg Lloyd
1995 QB Neil O'Donnell
1996 RB Jerome Bettis
1997 RB Jerome Bettis
1998 LB Levon Kirkland
1999 LB Levon Kirkland
2000 RB Jerome Bettis
2001 QB Kordell Stewart
2002 LB Joey Porter, WR Hines Ward
2003 WR Hines Ward
2004 LB James Farrior
2005 DT Casey Hampton, WR Hines Ward
2006 RB Willie Parker
2007 LB James Harrison
2008 LB James Harrison
2009 QB Ben Roethlisberger
2010 S Troy Polamalu
2011 WR Antonio Brown
2012 TE Heath Miller
2013 WR Antonio Brown