clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Steelers WR Martavis Bryant wins Joe Greene Rookie of the Year award

New, comments

The Pittsburgh Chapter of Pro Football Writers of America have voted on the 2014 Joe Greene Rookie of the Year, and the winner was WR Martavis Bryant.

Jason Bridge-USA TODAY Sports

Every year the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America vote on a handful awards. One of those awards is the Joe Greene Great Performance award. The award given to the team's top rookie of the year.

This year, the award was given to rookie wide receiver Martavis Bryant. Bryant has burst on the scene after watching the first six games of the 2014 season, and has accumulated 25 receptions for 528 yards and 7 touchdowns. Bryant's big play ability has helped transform the Steelers offense into the top offense in the NFL.

Bryant follows Le'Veon Bell, the 2013 winner of the Joe Greene award, and is the first WR since Mike Wallace in 2009 to win the award.

Bryant's ability will be much needed as the Steelers prepare to play the Cincinnati Bengals this Sunday night in the final week of the season, but with a playoff spot already secured his talents will be a problem for opposing defenses in the playoffs.