clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Steelers Cam Heyward wins The Chief award for cooperation with the media

New, comments

The Pittsburgh Steelers Cam Heyward was the recipient of The Chief award voted on by local sports writers to the player who shows consistent cooperation with the media.

Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

After a hard fought game which might not go the way of the Pittsburgh Steelers, talking to the media can be an arduous task. This, among other reasons, is why The Chief award was started in honor of the late founding father of the Steelers organization Art Rooney Sr.

The winner of the award is decided by the Pittsburgh Chapter of Pro Football Writers of America and the 2014 recipient of the award is defensive lineman Cameron Heyward.

Heyward has had a tremendous season on the field racking up 6.5 sacks this year, a single-season career best, and is tied for the team lead in that category, but his work off the field with the media has him following veteran cornerback Ike Taylor, the 2013 recipient of The Chief award, as a string of defenders to win the award.

Heyward's stability along the line has helped the team absorb injuries to players like Brett Keisel and help improve others play like rookie Stephon Tuitt. Heyward's work on the field will be a crucial factor in the Steelers' final game against the Cincinnati Bengals and the AFC Playoffs.