clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sean Davis named Steelers Joe Greene Award winner as team’s top rookie in 2016

The Pittsburgh Steelers had a tough field for their rookie of the year award, but the Pro Football Writers of America selected Davis to win the rookie of the year award.

New York Giants v Pittsburgh Steelers Photo by Jamie Sabau/Getty Images

The past several weeks, Pittsburgh Steelers fans have been wondering who will win the annual “Joe Greene” award, given to the team’s best rookie. The award is voted on by the Pro Football Writers of America, the Pittsburgh chapter, and there were three viable candidates in 2016.

SS Sean Davis
CB Artie Burns
DT Javon Hagrave

Although each one of these first year players could certainly make a case for being the next recipient of the award, the local press selected Davis, most likely for his position flexibility, playing both slot cornerback and safety this season, as well as his improved and impactful play since being inserted into the starting lineup as the Steelers started their 6-game winning streak they are currently experiencing heading into Week 17.

This wasn’t the only hardware handed out Thursday. The annual “Chief” award, named after Art Rooney Sr., also known as “The Chief”, for being the best with the media, was given to linebacker Arthur Moats. It shouldn’t come as a surprise since Moats is also the team’s representative for the Walter Payton “Man of the Year” award given out one of the 32 representatives vying for the award. The Walter Payton award will be announced before Super Bowl 51.