clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Pittsburgh Steelers rookies head to the Steel City for rookie minicamp

New, comments

The 2017 NFL Draft class is heading to Pittsburgh for their first taste of NFL football in the form of rookie minicamp.

NCAA Football: Syracuse at Pittsburgh Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

The Pittsburgh Steelers 2017 NFL Draft class has probably been chomping at the bit to get to work. After all, the complete and utter excitement they must have felt when getting the call from the Steelers stating they were drafted tends to have them yearning to want to get back on the field.

While some NFL teams have already wrapped up their rookie minicamps, the Steelers will be held Friday May 12th till Sunday May 14th.

During the minicamp players will get their first chance of getting on the field, working together as teammates and being coached by their new coaches as they prepare for the 2017 regular season.

Several rookies took to Twitter to announce their excitement, and arrival, to the Steel City.

Meanwhile, the Steelers equipment team is preparing for the players to arrive and get acclimated to their new surroundings. However, one James Conner won’t have too much change because he spent his previous four years at the same shared practice facility with the Steelers.

When talking about what to look for at the rookie minicamp, the answer is simple — not much. When you have rookies going against rookies, you can take away things like Josh Dobbs’ passing efficiency, Juju Smith-Schuster’s ability to catch the football, but most of the work done over the weekend will be nothing more than an introduction to the Steelers, their playbook and life in the NFL.

This is just the beginning of the Steelers offseason workout dates. After the rookies come into the facility to get their work started, the rest of the offseason workouts will officially begin on Tuesday May 23rd. See the full schedule below.

Tuesday, May 23 – OTA #1
Wednesday, May 24 – OTA #2
Thursday, May 25 – OTA #3
Tuesday, May 30 – OTA #4
Wednesday, May 31 – OTA #5
Thursday, June 1 – OTA #6
Monday, June 5 – OTA #7
Tuesday, June 6 – OTA #8
Wednesday, June 7 – OTA #9
Thursday, June 8 – OTA #10
Tuesday, June 13-Thursday, June 15 – Veteran Minicamp