clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alan Faneca not the only Steelers player to get snubbed prior to the Super Bowl

During the annual NFL Awards, a pair of Steelers were snubbed for recognition.

Steelers Alan Faneca Photo by George Gojkovich/Getty Images

It’s a tradition for the Pro Football Hall of Fame to announce their upcoming class on the day before the Super Bowl. This tradition continued prior to Super Bowl 52, and the list of names started to be released both on social media and on television.

Fans of the Pittsburgh Steelers waited to see Alan Faneca’s name show up — but it never did.

For the third straight year, Faneca has been named a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, only to come up short yet again. The Hall of Fame class of 2018 is loaded with former superstars: Ray Lewis, Terrell Owens, Brian Dawkins, Brian Urlacher and Randy Moss. All very deserving, but it seems as if the voting has turned away from the grit and strength of the linemen, and is targeting the skill positions and more high-profile players.

This tweet by former lineman by Shaun O’Hara sums it up well:

Again, all who will be enshrined are deserving, but convincing me Faneca doesn’t deserve a goal jacket would be a gigantic waste of time.

A pretty disappointing way for fans to start their evening, but it only got worse as the NFL Honors kicked off with one very deserving member of the Steelers vying for Offensive Player of the Year honors, and possibly some Most Valuable Player votes.

This would be none other than Antonio Brown.

Brown didn’t receive a single vote for MVP, and was labeled as a ‘distant second’ in the Offensive Player of the Year voting.

The following tweets sum it up well:

So, to recap, Alan Faneca is again denied enshrinement into the Hall of Fame, and Antonio Brown’s amazing season again goes unnoticed at the national level. Some might call this par for the course for the Steelers, and I would have to agree.