clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cam Heyward receives Steelers nomination for 2023 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year

It’s Heyward’s sixth nomination for the award.

Cameron Heyward #97 of the Pittsburgh Steelers looks on from the sideline during the national anthem prior to an NFL football game against the Green Bay Packers at Acrisure Stadium on November 12, 2023 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Photo by Perry Knotts/Getty Images

The NFL announced the 2023 nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award on Tuesday, with the Pittsburgh Steelers designating All-Pro defensive tackle Cam Heyward as their nominee for the year. It marks Heyward’s sixth time being nominated for the award, having received the team's nomination in each of the last three seasons.

Heyward’s charitable efforts are well known throughout the city of Pittsburgh, having founded the Cameron Heyward Foundation as a funnel for those efforts. His work in the community includes projects like Craig’s Closet, which provides local high school boys clothing for interviews, internships and the like, as well as Sacking Childhood Hunger, the Literacy Project, and more supporting local youth.

Each NFL club designates one player on their roster for nomination, with each nominee receiving up to a $55,000 donation for the charity of their choice. The winner of the 2023 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award will receive a $250,000 donation to the charity of their choice.

Fans can show support for Cam Heyward by participating in Nationwide’s annual Charity Challenge, where vans can vote for their favorite nominee at or by posting any of the following on X (formerly Twitter):

  • WPMOYChallenge + Cam Heyward
  • WPMOYChallenge + @CamHeyward
  • WPMOYChallenge + Heyward

The winner of the Charity Challenge will receive a $35,000 donation to a charity of their choice.

The NFL Honors ceremony will air on Thursday, February 8 on CBS, in the week leading up to Super Bowl LVIII.